2013 Open 50

The 2013 Centenary Open 50 was held on Saturday 27th July on J50E – an emergency course because of road works on the original circuit.

6 previous winners took part – Simon Bridge, Robin Brennan, Neil Skellern, Nick Barker, Jimmy Froggatt and Phil Pearce – all received a small shield recording details of their previous wins. Five times winner, Alan Roberts, was there to support his wife, Christine. Alan also received a shield (and a mug).

We have a new name to engrave on the trophy – Charles Taylor who completed the 50 miles in 1:49:04 – 34 seconds faster than 2011 and 2012 winner Simon Bridge.

The result sheet can be found here.

Photos from the event (Courtesy of Peter Hayhurst) are here.

Dave Lay took some more photos. They can be viewed here.

The start sheet is available to view here.

A map of the course is available here. The red dots are the part of the course after the start ridden only once. The blue dots show the circuit which is completed 3 times plus the distance to the finish.

  • 2018 Open 50

    We are re-running the Open 50 at 2:30 pm on the 1st September using J4/16.

    HQ will be Marthall Village Hall.

    Start and finish points closer to Marthall will be used to avoid a 7 mile ride to the start and back from the finish.

    Rob Bailey will be pleased to hear from anyone who can help on the day.